Allison's Online Portfolio

Internship Advice

Posted on: March 11, 2010

I think I can honestly say that in every class I have taken for my major, my professors have encouraged me to intern somewhere. Well, I took their advice and this summer I will be doing an internship at a magazine in Savannah. I got the internship because I have a friend at UGA that interned there last summer and she highly recommended it and gave me the name of the person in charge of interns. After getting the internship, I asked my friend for advice about it. She had some really good insight, but the thing that stuck out most in my mind was that she said to talk to and connect with every person that I can. She told me that she made incredible connections during her internship because she was able to go on errands and meet people and also talk to people that came into the office. She said that she has kept in touch with these people and she hopes that they will be able to help her in her job search when she graduates this May. I also talked to one of my friends at GSU, who had done an internship last summer as well, for her advice. She, too, had good ideas, but what I received most from her insight was that it’s extremely helpful to be able to adapt to any situation. She told me that the place where she interned was very laid back, but she was often sent on errands to other businesses that were far more rigid so she had to be as professional as possible on those occasions. The more I thought about this, the more I realized that adaptability is an important skill for everyone to have, not just in the business world but in life in general.

Cornellbusiness.com has a list of the “Five Best Pieces of Job/Internship Advice You Will Ever Get.”  The list includes:

  1. Know what you’re getting into and speak up from the start: Basically, know what’s expected of you and do it to the best of your ability.
  2. Be proactive: You aren’t paying off those student loans for nothing! It’s time to put all of that stuff you learned in endless hours of lectures to work and proactively use what you learned.
  3. Do your homework: This may seem like a no-brainer but it’s pretty important. Know what your company does! Know its products or services, its goals and objectives, the head honchos in the company, even the mission statement is important. The more you know about your company, the better you’ll be at your job.
  4. It’s the little things that count: Know everyone at your company because you never know who you’ll need. Learn the receptionist’s name and say “hi” everyday. Know the custodial staff, the people in the mail room, everyone. “The little things are the big things.”
  5. Network, network, network: Get to know as many people as you can. You can do a great job, but what good is it if no one knows about it? Start by getting to know everyone in your office and they can lead you to people outside of your office.

Finally, here is a YouTube video from the “Intern Queen,” Lauren Berger with quarterlife.com. The video is only about 2 and half minutes long, but it’s packed full of good advice about making the most of your internship, volunteering for any and everything you can, and using social networking in the office.

I hope this was helful. Talk to you soon!

– Allison

10 Responses to "Internship Advice"

This was very beneficial. You and I have some of the same ideas when it comes to internships. I believe that they will be very beneficial to us. Interning gives us the hands-on experience that we need in order to compete for jobs in the public relations industry. I have learned a lot in my classes at Georgia Southern, but I hope to gain even more knowledge through my internship this summer. Thanks for sharing and good luck in Savannah this summer. I am sure you will do a great job.

Allison-

I really liked this post on internship advice. Its really cool that your friend gave you some contact information from her internship because it is really true, it’s all about who you know these days! I completely agree with your friend when she says that you need to adapt to different situations. I found this when I did my internship in NYC, dealing with different clients. I also liked the video on this post of the “intern queen”. I had never heard of her, but she did give some good advice. It defiantly helps to introduce yourself to as many people that you meet during your internship and make a contact list. I tried to get business card, and then follow-up with them closer to graduation.

[…] Comment #7 Allison’s post “Internship Advice“ […]

I love your video on internship advice. She gave many good pointers. I dont have a internship at this moment but I am looking forward to getting one this summer. I have one lined up and I hope everything works out with that!. Good luck with everything!. Great Blog !..

I like the “Five Best Pieces of Job/Internship Advice You Will Ever Get” that you found. They are pretty straight forward and leave out the nonsense. I always enjoy receiving advice that makes sense without having to take it with a grain of salt. My favorite tip is number five. I cannot tell you how many people have stressed the importance of networking. I’ve already begun to network and it’s amazing how many doors it has opened for me just since I’ve been in college. I also like the video you posted. Do you think the internship queen can get me a job this summer?

That is really great advice. I agree with your friend who told you to make as many connections as possible and stay in contact with them. The past two summers I have worked a few internships and I was able to make a network of connections in the PR field and the media. I even had the chance to be familiar with the judges in Atlanta. Having a large group of connections can help you get a job, receive helpful advice, and you can receive assistance when you need it. Your posts proves that having a network is essential, because your friend connected you to an employer. It is great that you have an internship at a magazine. I hope you enjoy yourself there and thanks for the advice!

[…] Internship Advice by Allison: That is really great advice. I agree with your friend who told you to make as many connections as possible and stay in contact with them. The past two summers I have worked a few internships and I was able to make a network of connections in the PR field and the media. I even had the chance to be familiar with the judges in Atlanta. Having a large group of connections can help you get a job, receive helpful advice, and you can receive assistance when you need it. Your posts proves that having a network is essential, because your friend connected you to an employer. It is great that you have an internship at a magazine. I hope you enjoy yourself there and thanks for the advice! […]

[…] Internship Advice by Allison: That is really great advice. I agree with your friend who told you to make as many connections as possible and stay in contact with them. The past two summers I have worked a few internships and I was able to make a network of connections in the PR field and the media. I even had the chance to be familiar with the judges in Atlanta. Having a large group of connections can help you get a job, receive helpful advice, and you can receive assistance when you need it. Your posts proves that having a network is essential, because your friend connected you to an employer. It is great that you have an internship at a magazine. I hope you enjoy yourself there and thanks for the advice! […]

That is great that you got an internship this summer!! How I exciting. I enjoyed reading your blog. I like the overall setup of how you presented your findings. Knowing about the company before you work or intern with them is such good advice. You should always know what your getting into and the history and background of the company. Good advice about getting to know as many people at your company as possible. You never know who you might need and when you might need them. Networking is important too, that is something I am working on. I like the video you attached, good job.

Leave a Reply

  • None

Categories

